RESOLUTION NO. 22-02

A RESOLUTION OF THE SAN MATED COUNTY HARBOR DISTRICT BOARD OF HARBOR COMMISSIONERS TO ESTABLISH A WHARFAGE FEE

WHEREAS, the California Harbor and Navigation Code §6079 provides that the "board shall by ordinance fix the rate of wharfage charges and other charges which are appropriate for the use of any of the facilities owned and constructed or services furnished or provided by the district;",

WHEREAS, San Mateo County Ordinance Code Section 3.10.160 provides "vessels loading" or unloading merchandise at District facilities shall pay prescribed fees at the time of discharging or loading;"

WHEREAS, San Mateo County Ordinance Code Section 3.10.010 provides the District "shall establish rates and fees for the use of facilities of the District and for services performed by the District. This schedule of rates and fees will be adopted by resolution of the Board of Harbor Commissioners. It shall be the responsibility of the employees of the District or their agents to collect said fees and charges;" and

WHEREAS, the District desires to establish a wharfage fee.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the San Mateo County Harbor District:

1. Effective March 1, 2022, and for a six-month test period the District shall charge a wharfage fee in the amount of \$.10 per pound of gross weight of finfish and shellfish being loaded onto or loaded off a vessel. The fee would be imposed for each vessel using district facilities to load or unload seafood, except those vessels that offload or onload through a lessee fish buyer or a vessel selling seafood directly to a retail customer pursuant to a commercial activity permit.

2. The General Manager is hereby directed to revise the schedule of rates and fees to carry out the purposes of this Resolution.

PASSED AND ADOPTED on this 16th day of February 2022.

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution No.22-02 was duly adopted by the Board of Commissioners of the San Mateo County Harbor District following Roll Call Vote:

FOR: AGAINST: ABSENT: **ABSTENTION:** Revering, Zemke, Mattusch, Chang Kiraly, Larenas None None None

BOARD OF HARBOR COMMISSIONERS

Nancy Revering, President ATTES

Melanie Hadden, Deputy Secretary